YOU ARE HERE : : News Section

Results : LIEBHERR 2013 World Table Tennis Championships, Paris (FRA), May 13 - 20, 2013



A full contingent of Indian Team consisting of the following members participated in the 2013 World Table Tennis Championships held at Paris from 13th to 20th May, 2013

Men: A Sharath Kamal, Soumyajit Ghosh, Amal Raj, Sanil Shetty, Harmeet Desai

Women: K Shamini, Mouma Das, Madhurika Patkar, Neha Aggarwal

Coaches: Kamlesh Mehta and Bhavani Mukherjee

Manager: Mr. Chiranjib Choudhuri


This year was the best ever performance for the Indian Players as 3 players in Men viz., Sharath Kamal, Amal Raj and Soumyajit Ghosh, played the Main Draw of 128, which is a good achievement. Similarly, all of them qualified in the groups and the other two players lost in the Preliminary Rounds. Sharath Kamal, however, lost in the Round of 64 to Timo Ball of Germany.

In the Women’s Section also, three players viz., K Shamini, Mouma Das and Madhurika Patkar qualified in the Groups, won three rounds in the Preliminary Rounds and finally qualified to the Main Draw. However, they lost in the Round of 128, but still it is a good performance. Neha Aggarwal also qualified from the Groups, but, lost in the last round of the Preliminary Rounds.

In the Mixed Doubles, our pair Soumyajit Ghosh and Mouma Das made it to the Round of 32 and lost in the same round. It was an appreciable performance.

The detailed results are as under:

Men’s Singles


    Soumyajit Ghosh bt Leong Kin Wa (MAC) 11-7, 14-12,11-9, 12-10

    Soumyajit Ghosh bt Corbin Anthony (TRI) 11-7, 11-5, 11-6, 11-7


    Harmeet Desai bt Matam Hermann (CMR) 11-6, 13-11, 11-8, 15-13

    Harmeet Desai bt Belkadi Aissa (ALG) 10-12, 11-4, 11-4, 11-2, 11-4


    Sanil shetty bt Billah Mahbub (BAN) 11-5, 11-3, 11-8, 11-6

    Sanil shetty bt Lusin Aleksandr (EST) 4-11, 11-9, 5-11, 10-12, 11-9, 11-7, 11-2


Men’s Preliminary Rounds

First Round

    Sanil shetty bt Ramirez Jose Miguel (GUA) 11-7, 11-7, 11-4, 5-11, 11-7

    Ghoh bt Kenjaev Zokhid (UZB) 6-11, 13-11, 8-11, 11-6, 11-5, 11-8

    Harmeet Desai bt Tabachnik Pabla (ARG) 1-9, 11-5, 11-4, 11-9

    Sanil shetty lost in the 2nd Round to Saleh Ahmed of Egypt

    Harmeet Desai lost in the 2nd Round to Floras Robert from Poland

    Ghosh beat Indeherberg Julien (BEL) 8-11, 11-9, 11-3, 11-5, 5-11, 11-5

Main Draw

    (R/128) Sharath Kamal bt Machado Carlos (ESP) 11-7, 11-5, 8-11, 11-8, 5-11, 11-9

    (R/128) Anthony Amalraj lost to Niwa Koki 0-4

    (R/128) Soumyajit Ghosh lost to Ma Long 0-4

Round of 64

    Sharath Kamal lost to Timo Ball (GER) 1-4

Women’s Singles


    Mouma Das got walkover from Namaganda Anina (UGA)

    Mouma Das bt Karieva Aziza (TJK) 11-3, 11-2, 11-2, 11-5


    K Shamini bt Harvey Kryztle (BAR) 11-1, 11-5, 11-2, 11-4

    K Shamini bt Karadanaarachchi Ridhmi (SRI) 11-5, 11-4, 11-8, 11-1


    Madhurika Patkar bt Alyassi Kaltham (BRN) 11-1, 11-4, 11-3, 11-6

    Madhurika Patkar bt Silva Ana (POR) 11-7, 12-10, 12-10, 11-5


    Neha Aggarwal bt Mergen Delgermaa (MGL) 11-3, 11-3, 11-3, 11-8

    Neha Aggarwal bt Shoifer Neli (ISR) 11-5, 11-8, 11-5, 11-7

    Preliminary Round

    Mouma Das (I Rd) bye

    Neha Aggarwal bt Gungor Gokce Nur (TUR) 11-3, 11-9, 3-11, 12-10, 11-6

    K Shamini (IRd) bye

    Madhurika Patkar (IRd) bye

II Round

    Mouma Das bt Chung Rheann (TRI) 11-7, 8-11, 11-9, 13-11, 11-8

    Neha Aggarwal lost to Pietkiewicz Monika (POL) 3-4

    K Shamini bt Fajmut Manca (SLO) 9-11, 11-6, 11-6, 12-14, 11-2, 11-7

    Madhurika Patka bt Khusseinova Gulchekhra (KAZ) 11-4, 11-6, 7-11, 12-10, 5-11, 11-8

Women’s Singles : Main Draw

    (R/128) K Shamini lost to Stefanova Nikoleta (ITA) 0-4

    (R/128) Madhurika Patkar lost to NG Wing Nam (HKG) 1-4

    (R/128) Mouma Das lost to Lee Ho Ching (HKG) 1-4

Men’s Doubles: Preliminary Rounds

    Sharath/Sanil Shetty lost in the First Round to Sirucek Pavel/Tregler Tomas 9CZE) 1-3

    Harmeet/Ghosh bt Theriault Pierre Luc/Therien Xavier (CAN) 11-6, 9-11, 9-11, 11-2, 11-5

Men’s Doubles : Preliminary Rounds : 2nd Round

    Harmeet/Ghosh bt Menge Gencay/Vang Bora (TUR) 11-9, 13-11, 5-11, 11-5

Preliminary Round 3rd Round

    Harmeet/Ghosh lost to Lee chia Sheng/Wu Chin Chi (TPE) 0-3

Women’s Doubles :

Preliminary Round 1

    Neha/Madhurika : bye

    Shamini/Mouma : bye

Second round

    Neha/madhurika bye

    Shamini/Mouma lost to Fitria Mira/Palit Stella (INA) 1 – 3

Third Round

    Neha/Madhurika bt Agerholm Pernille/Jacobsen Mie (DEN) 11-8, 9-11, 13-11, 8-11, 11-7

Main Draw

    Neha/Madhurika lost to Barthel Zhenqui/Ivancan Irene (GER) 1-4

Mixed Doubles

    Sharath Kamal/K Shamini bt Zhang Yahao /Wu Erica (USA) 4-3

    Amal Raj/Madhurika beat Milosevic Bojan/Todorovic Andrea (SRB) 4-3

    Ghosh/Mouma bt Saleh Ahmed/Abdel Aziz Farah (EGY) 4-3

MXD Second Round

    Sharat/Shamini lost to Franziska Patrick/Solja Petrissa (GER) 1-4

    AmalRaj/Madhurika lost to Yoshimura Maharu/Ishikawa Kasumi (JPN) 2-4

    Ghosh/Mouma bt Shibaev Alexander/Troshneva Elena (RUS) 4-1

Third round (R/32)

    Ghosh/Mouma lost to Tang Peng/NG Wing Nam (NHG) 2-4